Gary Vee’s Crushing It: Full Book Review — How To Start Crushing It NOW! — The Ultimate Guide

Man, I first want to give a special thanks to Gary.  Because I learned so much in the Twitter, YouTube, Instagram and FB sections of his book (towards the end), my YouTube has shot up within the last 10 days and I’ve seen unbelievable growth on all platforms.  Absolutely amazed by it because he’s just right — almost all the time.

I’ve finally reached the completion of this book and it’s time to top this bad boy off with a ‘How To Guide,’ of course, by The Arsenio Buck Show.  Let’s get started!

Document, Don’t Create!

I’ve recently met friends in Slovenia, Belarus and Mongolia, all of which are naked to the ears of most human beings (especially in America).  With them already running businesses, I told them to provide the world with insight into their lives in their fascinatingly respective countries.  People who are wondering if they want to try “shit” out, have someone be douchey (as Gary Vee has said) and walk around with you all day, filming the chaos (or lack thereof) in your daily life.  People want real.  People want the truth.  People don’t want to bullshit, fabricated Instagram photos of people fronting.  They want YOU!

Suffocate your bullshit excuses….add to the list below.

I have a full-time job.
I don’t have any money.
I have kids.
I don’t have time.
My industry has too many strict rules.
I have an idea for an app, but I don’t know how to code.
My parents don’t get it.
My family is holding me back.
I’m afraid my friends will get ahead of me.
I still haven’t finished the books assigned by my life coach.
No one was watching.
Only a few people were reading.
I don’t know which idea to pursue.
I don’t have the right equipment.
I don’t know where to start.
I’m too old.
I’m an artist, not a businessperson.
I’m not into anything monetizable.
I’m afraid I’ll get hate comments.”

En route to your success, you’re going to encounter lots of delays, setbacks, and TROLLS! I still remember Gary Vee going on a rant with a dumpster behind him, calling out a troll on Instagram by the name of PunkMan96.  It was the funniest thing I’ve ever witnessed, but it’s also the truth.

Hell, I recently had a troll on my YouTube calling me a MISOGYNIST.  Do you think that’s going to stop me from being who I already am? Fuck no! If not, I’m excited that people are communicating with me in general!

Fear of Failure 

I thought a many of times I’ve failed at my podcast.  Hell, people fail at a lot of different things.  Gary Vee talks about how his Ask Gary Vee show has lost subscribers and he’s completely ok with that.  However, D Rock, the man who follows Gary Vee with a camera (I think), thinks he’s making a massive mistake.  Guys, failure is imminent, and it’s needed.  You better embrace your failures, kiss them, hang them and thank them everyday.  Life is boring without failures.  I recently had my 2nd worst failure in the history of my life in terms of competing, and it forced me to finally sign up with a gym, full-time, and completely transform my health.

You’ve got to try things out.  Period.

Get Discovered

“You need to understand something: when you’re starting with nothing, you will find that your absolute breakthrough opportunities will be developed in two ways:
By the smart use of hashtags, a strategy that requires an unbelievably long grind.
By direct-messaging, i.e., reaching out directly to people and offering something of value in return for their attention, a strategy that requires an unbelievably long grind.
It’s the second one that I believe holds the most promise, which is why, whenever possible, I’ve included instructions on how to collaborate and business-develop within each platform we discuss in this book. Collaborations are the absolutely most tried-and-true way to grow a fan base quickly—quickly being a relative term. In most cases, you should count on this process taking years, not months. If that bothers you, close the book.”

With my personal development podcast, I started doing interviews, kicking them off with The Poise Pursuit, in the very beginning stages.  After that, I interviewed a few other entrepreneurs before I started making big splashes with CEO’s from StemCell companies and fitness entrepreneurs.  Recently, I interviewed a millionaire author by the name of David Mauro who had the most awe-inspiring story one could ever imagine.  Radio personalities and other coaches have come on board.  I would have to say the most lucrative had to be Luke Burrows because it landed me a content writer and a joint-partnership with Motivational Mentors, a weekly show that Luke and I host and answer a variety of different questions.

Collaborations are the best.  Gary Vee talks about influencers, but it depends who those people are.  You don’t want to pay people who have a bunch of nasty followers who post sexist comments. Something to consider.

Twitter

“There are several other advantages to using Twitter as your pillar content:
It’s a complete and trustworthy directory. The platform has been around long enough to have perfected its verification system, which gives it a better search function. You can still spend a lot of time guessing whether the Instagram account you’re targeting is real or not.
Its retweet feature offers a remarkable opportunity to create instant awareness. Let’s say you make a YouTube mash-up of the rapper Logic’s music videos. It’s unlikely he’s going to see it, even if he’s tagged. Share the mash-up on Twitter, however, and the retweets can propel your video to dramatic virality, the kind that even the biggest influencers notice. This kind of word of mouth does not exist on Instagram or Snapchat and is enormously beneficial to content creators.  Not only that, you can try to spark that word of mouth many, many more times on Twitter than on other platforms. I post three, maybe four times per day on Instagram, but there are days when I could post forty-seven times on Twitter. The fact that it’s as welcoming to the written word as to pictures gives content creators the flexibility and leeway to increase the volume of their storytelling.”

I landed an interview with Harvesting Happiness Radio’s Lisa Cypers-Kamen.  I was also put on listening notes where I had a girl contact me to put David Mauro on my podcast, too.  Through twitter, you’re able to have real-time conversations with real people.  I gained about 16 followers in the last 16-hours (for some reason) and one of them was a biz developer from Howell, Michigan, a place I’ve seen pop up on my podcast.

 

YouTube Best Practices

If you want to increase the amount of time people spend watching every video you post on your channel as a whole, make sure you can answer the questions below.
Video Optimization

TITLES: How much thought have you put into your video title? Does the title accurately reflect the video’s content? Is the majority of the title viewable on mobile? Is the title short and concise, emotionally driven, and/or keyword optimized?

DESCRIPTIONS: Are the top two lines of the description keyword optimized? Are there links to other similar videos or playlists in the description? Is there a subscribe link? Are there links to your other social-media accounts? Are all of the links clickable and trackable?”

TAGS: Are there at least ten tags in the description? Are both one-word and phrase tags included? Do the tags accurately reflect the video’s content? Are the tags valuable, that is, do they have high search volumes but low competition? You can find this out by using tools like VidIQ, Google Adwords Keyword Planner, and Keywordtool.io.

THUMBNAILS: Does the thumbnail accurately reflect the video’s content? If there is text on the thumbnail, is it easy to read on all devices? If there is text, does it complement the title?

YOUTUBE CARDS: To extend watch time on your channel, are you including YouTube cards within your video to drive traffic to other relevant videos you’ve posted?”

BANNER: Does the banner accurately reflect the channel’s content and genre? Does the graphic transfer well to all devices?

ABOUT SECTION/CHANNEL DESCRIPTION: Are the top two lines keyword optimized? Is the first paragraph an overview of the channel? Have you included the upload schedule? Are all of the social-media links clickable? (They don’t have to be trackable.)

PLAYLISTS: Does the channel have custom playlists? Do the playlists have keyword-optimized descriptions? Are the playlists featured on the landing page of the channel?

CHANNEL TRAILER: Is a channel trailer displayed on the landing page? Does the channel trailer accurately reflect the channel’s content and genre? Is the channel trailer telling the best story in the shortest amount of time?”

Excerpt From: Gary Vaynerchuk. “Crushing It!.” iBooks. https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/crushing-it/id1229850109?mt=11

 

Facebook

 

Instagram

 

Podcasts

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑