Jack Canfield – Practice Uncommon Appreciation

“I have yet to find a man, however exalted his station, who did not do better work and put forth greater effort under a spirt of approval than under a spirit of criticism.” – Charles M. Schwab

Throughout all my teaching jobs in Thailand, I’ve never been praised for an amazing job I do. Period.  Even if my students excel significantly, it’s not happening.  Other foreigners would want to see me fail than succeed because that means they’ll get a higher salary if I get fired.  The scrutiny is incredible, too, especially when color goes against you for whatever reason.

I still love telling the story about my first dental assisting job in America.  I worked with one of the most wonderful Dental Anaesthetist who I thought was a big brother.  His wife would come in and say, “we need positive reinforcement.”

So, one day she walked into the surgery and delivered some good news.  He said, “hey!”….approaching her, put his hand up and said, “good job.”  She bursted into laughter, including the dentist and I.  It’s hard to practice uncommon appreciation.

A management study revealed that 46% of employees leaving a company do so because they feel unappreciated; 61% said their bosses don’t place much important on them as people, and 88% said they do not receive acknowledgement for the work they do.

Whether you are an entrepreneur, manager, teacher, parent, coach, or simply a friend, if you want to be successful with other people, you must master the art of appreciation.

What Are The Five Love Languages?

Words of affirmation.  If this is someone’s primary love language, they feel most cared for when you are open and expensive in telling them how wonderful you think they are, how much you appreciate them and what they do, and sharing words of encouragement expressing your belief in their talents and abilities.

Quality Time.  If someone’s love language is quality, they need you to be fully present and engaged when talking to them.

Receiving Gifts.  If someone’s primary love language is receiving gifts, you need to give them a gift for them to feel loved and appreciated.

Acts of service.  If someone’s love language is acts of service, doing something for them makes them feel appreciated.  It could be watching the kids so they can go to the gym, washing the dishes without being asked, bringing them breakfast in bed, etc….

Physical Touch.  A warm hug, a kiss, snuggling, holding hands, a massage, and sexual intimacy will make them feel most loved.

If you want to know more about these, tune into my podcast down below.

Podcast – https://www.spreaker.com/episode/9374684

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: